FWCS News Headlines for Current School Year

Want to know what's happening in Fort Wayne Community Schools? You've come to the right spot. This is the area to find district-wide news for the current school year. Looking for news from past years? Check out our News Archive.

Current News Headlines

FWCS Names Secretary as First Employee of the Year (Wednesday, May 18, 2022)

Fort Wayne Community Schools celebrated its first ever Employee of the Year today when (read full article)


Walter Jordan Brings Basketball Camp to Northrop (Thursday, May 12, 2022)

Northrop High School alum and former NBA player Walter Jordan will host a basketball camp for (read full article)


FWCS Online Pre-registration Now Includes Fee Payment (Thursday, May 12, 2022)

Online registration for the 2022-23 school year is now open for all Fort Wayne Community Schools (read full article)


FWCS Names 2022 Elementary, Secondary Teachers of the Year (Wednesday, May 11, 2022)

Caroline Rosado, fifth-grade teacher at Weisser Park Elementary School, and Thomas Maupin, choir (read full article)


FWCS Teacher of the Year School Winners (Wednesday, May 11, 2022)

(read full article)


FWCS Named Best Community for Music Education (Tuesday, May 10, 2022)

Fort Wayne Community Schools has been honored with the Best Communities for Music Education (read full article)


Board Approves New Human Resources Executive Director (Monday, May 09, 2022)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, April 25, approved hiring (read full article)


Six Schools Recieve Energy Star Certification (Friday, April 22, 2022)

Six additional FWCS school buildings have earned the Energy Star certification from the U.S. (read full article)


Students at Washington Prepare for Bike to School Day (Friday, April 22, 2022)

Students at Washington Elementary School, 1015 W. Washington Blvd., will receive pedestrian and (read full article)


North Side Students Dance with 'Stars' to Raise Money for Riley (Wednesday, March 30, 2022)

North Side High School hosts its annual Dancing with the Stars event Friday, April 1, at 5:30 (read full article)


Board Approves New Transportation Director (Tuesday, March 29, 2022)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, March 28, approved hiring (read full article)


South Side's Swinford Moving to Northrop (Monday, March 14, 2022)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved naming current South Side (read full article)


FWCS Nutrition Services Celebrates Expansion with Topping Off Ceremony (Wednesday, March 02, 2022)

Fort Wayne Community Schools and CME Corporation will celebrate the expansion of the Nutrition (read full article)


FWCS Invites Parents to Review Curriculum Options (Tuesday, March 01, 2022)

Fort Wayne Community Schools invites parents to review curriculum options being considered for (read full article)


Registration for Pre-K and Kindergarten Students Now Open (Tuesday, March 01, 2022)

Online registration for students entering pre-kindergarten or kindergarten in the 2022-23 school (read full article)


Adult Graduates Celebrated March 2 (Thursday, February 24, 2022)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Adult and Continuing Education Department will celebrate the (read full article)


High Schools Welcome Class of 2026 (Tuesday, February 15, 2022)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ five high schools will welcome members of the Class of 2026 (read full article)


New Curriculum Leader Approved (Tuesday, January 25, 2022)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, Jan. 24, approved the (read full article)


Four FWCS Buildings Go to eLearning Because of Absenteeism (Thursday, January 13, 2022)

Abbett, Fairfield and Franke Park elementary schools and Shawnee Middle School will have an (read full article)


FWCS Career Academy Continues Fruit Sale Tradition (Monday, December 06, 2021)

The 32nd Annual FWCS Career Academy fruit sale at the Bill C. Anthis Center begins (read full article)


Career Academy Gives Back for Thanksgiving (Wednesday, November 17, 2021)

The FWCS Career Academy Culinary Arts program will celebrate Thanksgiving by offering a free (read full article)


Mitch Sheppard Named FWCS Director of Philanthropy (Tuesday, November 09, 2021)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, Nov. 8, approved hiring (read full article)


FWCS Students Remember Veterans Day (Tuesday, November 09, 2021)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will honor and celebrate Veterans Day with activities and events (read full article)


Families Welcome to Visit FWCS Buildings During Tuesday Tours (Tuesday, November 02, 2021)

Families are invited to visit Fort Wayne Community Schools’ elementary, middle and high (read full article)


Community Leaders Return to Buildings for Principal for a Day (Wednesday, October 20, 2021)

Fort Wayne Community Schools welcomes 41 community members into our schools to serve as guest (read full article)


FWCS to Offer Evening COVID-19 Testing to Students, Staff (Thursday, October 14, 2021)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will offer evening COVID-19 testing to students and staff to (read full article)


FWCS Students to Participate in Walk to School Day (Monday, October 04, 2021)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will celebrate National Walk to School Day Wednesday, Oct. 6, with (read full article)


Two-Year Contract Between FWCS and FWEA Presented (Monday, September 27, 2021)

A tentative two-year agreement between Fort Wayne Community Schools and the Fort Wayne Education (read full article)


FWCS Adopting 3DE Education Model in Partnership with JANI (Tuesday, September 14, 2021)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, Sept. 13, approved a (read full article)


Pre-K Students Start Monday (Friday, August 27, 2021)

Fort Wayne Community Schools welcomes its youngest students Monday, Aug. 30. Pre-kindergarten (read full article)


Back to School Nights Taking Place through Sept. 15 (Thursday, August 26, 2021)

Schools are hosting Back-to-School Nights for families in all Fort Wayne Community Schools (read full article)


FWCS Electric Works School Gets a Name: Amp Lab (Wednesday, August 11, 2021)

Superintendent Dr. Mark Daniel unveiled the name of Fort Wayne (read full article)


Masks Required Beginning Aug. 11 at FWCS (Monday, August 09, 2021)

Beginning Wednesday, Aug. 11, all staff, students and visitors to FWCS will be required to wear (read full article)


Wayne Kicks off 50th Anniversary Celebration (Friday, August 06, 2021)

Wayne High School celebrates its 50th anniversary this year and will kick off the celebration (read full article)


FWCS Hosting Nutrition Services Job Fair (Wednesday, August 04, 2021)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will host a Nutrition Services Job Fair from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Friday, (read full article)


Bus Fleet Gets Annual Check-Up This Week (Tuesday, August 03, 2021)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ fleet of nearly 300 buses are getting checked from top to (read full article)


In-School Registration July 30, Aug. 2 (Friday, July 16, 2021)

In-school registration for the 2021-22 school year will be held Friday, July 30, and Monday, (read full article)


Transition Day Scheduled Aug. 3 (Friday, July 16, 2021)

Students entering kindergarten and sixth and ninth grades in Fort Wayne Community Schools will (read full article)


Day of Caring Comes to FWCS Thursday (Monday, July 12, 2021)

Volunteers will clean, paint and spruce up the landscaping at 13 Fort Wayne Community Schools (read full article)



Administrative Appointments Approved (Wednesday, June 23, 2021)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, June 14, approved several (read full article)


Super Shot Offers FWCS High School Students Chance at $500 (Thursday, June 10, 2021)

Super Shot is partnering with Fort Wayne Community Schools to provide COVID-19 vaccinations to (read full article)


FWCS Celebrates the Class of 2021 (Tuesday, June 01, 2021)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will celebrate commencement Thursday, June 3, Friday, June 4, and (read full article)


Virtual Academy Lottery Open (Tuesday, June 01, 2021)

Lottery applications are now being accepted for those interested in attending the Fort Wayne (read full article)