Area Leaders Take Turn as Guest Principals

Record Number: 16046
Displayed from: Oct 18, 2016 , until: Dec 18, 2016

Fort Wayne Community Schools welcomes 50 community members into our schools to serve as guest principals for the annual Principal for a Day event. Guests representing local businesses, elected officials, service organizations and community groups, will visit their assigned schools the morning of Thursday, Oct. 20, unless other arrangements were made.

The guest principals will visit the schools from the beginning of the school day until noon, experiencing what a principal goes through in a day. From welcoming students into a building to dealing with concerned parents to working directly with teachers to improve academic achievement, principals do it all. The guests will see the amount of time principals spend as instructional leaders, a key component to ensuring each student is educated to high standards.

Following the shadowing experience, the principals and their guests are invited to lunch at the new Family and Community Engagement Center, 230 E. Douglas Ave., where students in the FWCS Career Academy Culinary Arts program will serve a delicious meal.

“Principal for a Day is a great event each year because we get to show off what we do to leaders in the community,” Superintendent Wendy Robinson said. “Each year, our guests are astounded by the intricate work going on in our buildings to ensure all students are educated to high standards. What we do doesn’t happen by accident, which is something these leaders can understand and appreciate. We are very deliberate in our work, and we are proud to welcome guests into our buildings knowing that they will share what they see with others.”

The guest principals come from a variety of occupations, leadership positions and organizations in our community. The following is a list of the schools participating and their guest principals:





Paul Sturm

Attorney, Shambaugh, Kast, Beck and Williams


Renee Morrison

Financial Center Manager, AVP, Fifth Third Bank


David Deffenbaugh

Chief Administrator, Saint Anne Communities


Sen. Dennis Kruse



Nelson Peters

Allen County Commissioner


Abby Wilder

Partner, Thrivent Financial


Shelley Yoder

Executive Director, Down Syndrome Association of Northeast Indiana


Steve Corona

Secretary, FWCS Board of School Trustees


Charly Butcher

Morning Show Host, WOWO


Ron Howard

Indiana Pacers

Forest Park

Sen. David Long


Franke Park

Derek Veit

Superintendent of Forestry Operations, Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation

Glenwood Park

Anne Duff

Member, FWCS Board of School Trustees


Rob Kruger

Partner, Burt, Blee, Dixon, Sutton and Bloom, LLP


Rev. Bob Arenobine

Grace Brethren Church

Harrison Hill

Jessica Swinford

President, Junior League of Fort Wayne


Rev. Doug Vogel

Chaplain, The Towne House

Indian Village

Dave Laur

Circuit Court Judge of Noble County


Larisa Brown

Education Outreach Coordinator, 80/20 Inc.


Craig Armstrong

Associate Project Manager, Elevatus


Tim Bawmann

President, Fort Wayne Mad Ants


Greg Barnes

Vice President/Regional Retail Manager, Star Financial Bank


Bryan Meriwether

Pharmacist, Summit City Pharmacy


Julie Hollingsworth

Vice President, FWCS Board of School Trustees


Fernando Zapari

Editor, El Mexicano


Dianna Vetter

Program Analyst/ES Wellness Site Lead, BAE Systems

Memorial Park

Max Meyer

Director of Children’s Education, Fort Wayne Museum of Art


Glenda Ritz

Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction

New Tech

Nancy Townsend

Executive Director, Fort Wayne Redevelopment Commission

North Side

John Kaczmarczyk

Director of Operations, Press-Seal Corporation


Julie Creek

Director, IPFW Office of Diversity and Cultural Affairs


Jeff Sebeika

Owner, Subway


Kons Skembos

Account Manager, DWD Technology Group


Jayson Maples

Founder, Heroes and Legends Wrestling


Jarin Hart

Executive Director, Fort Wayne Dance Collective


Curtis Smith

Director of Community Outreach, Parkview


John Mikolajczyk

Director of Operations, Fort Wayne Children’s Zoo


Aaron Lane

Community Development Coordinator, Parkview Health


Mike Nutter

President, Fort Wayne TinCaps

South Side

Magistrate Andrea Trevino

Allen County Circuit Court

South Wayne

Rev. Bill McGill

Imani Baptist Church

St. Joseph Central

Dr. E. Jon Brandenburger



Becky Hill

Member, FWCS Board of School Trustees

Towles Intermediate

Dick Conklin

Fort Wayne Sister Cities International, Inc.


John Dortch

President/CEO, Preston Joan Group


Lori Stinson

Realtor, North Eastern Realty Group

Washington Center

Aaron Hoover

Operating Principal of Keller Williams


Scott Swymeler

Director of Manufacturing, BAE Systems


Ted Jansen

Waynedale United Methodist Church

Weisser Park

Iric Headley

Director, Fort Wayne UNITED

Whitney Young

Carmen Griffith

President, Community Harvest Food Bank


With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.